5 Suggestions for New Badges on Foursquare

Since TECH 621, I have become addicted to Foursquare and the apps surrounding it. I’ve been on it for roughly 9 months now, and I wouldn’t mind unlocking more badges. Not to mention, I also appreciate the snarky taglines that the badges have. The badges make Foursquare fun and exciting, and I sometimes wish there were more. So here’s my 5 suggestions:

1. The Roadside Warrior.

This badge would be intended for those who travel to roadside attractions. I think it would be really cool to have a badge that would include small attractions on the side of the highway. We know that during the summer people tend to travel, and visit these tourist traps. Traveling is something that I like to show off to friends, and there’s no better way than with my Foursquare Badges. Perhaps the tagline for this badge would have some reference from Mad Max?

2. The Brewmaster’s Quest

Microbreweries have become increasingly popular in the past few years. Although there are badges for the amount of time you’ve been out to bars, I think it would be interesting to have a badge that recognizes when a user checks-in to 5 different breweries. As the number of micro-brewers increase, it might be a way for Foursquare to give the industry a hat-tip.

3. The Boiler Up Badge

I go to Purdue University, and we definitely have a community of people who use Foursquare. Although I have not checked-in to a swarm here on campus, I have definitely seen buildings that have around 30 people checked in. It would be nice to have some type of Block-P or hammer badge that I could display to my friends.

It might also be nice to mention that IU already has a badge, and who wants to be one-upped by a rival?

4. Mr. Smith’s Goes to the Bureaucracy Badge

It’s a fact of life in most governments that there are places you must go to that are government bureaucracies: the BMV, the Social Security Administration, et al. What would make you happier than just having what you need done within 5 minutes? A Foursquare badge to show everyone that you survived government bureaucracy on multiple occasions.

5. The Mega American

I think there needs to be a badge for people that visit all 50 states in the USA. Granted I’ve only been to roughly 10 while I’ve been on Foursquare, I still want to work towards something. If you can unlock a badge that shows I’ve been to all 50 states, that is something that clearly can be bragged about. How about a bonus of having a Mayorship in each state? It might be nearly impossible, but I think someone could do it.

About Mike Brownstein

I'm a Political Science MA student, and taking Tech 621 at Purdue University
This entry was posted in Commentary, Humor, Social Media Tools, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Suggestions for New Badges on Foursquare

  1. JohnCassillo says:

    Love the 50 States and Brewmaster badge ideas. Unsure why there’s a badge for wine, but none for beer. And the 50 states badge seems like it would be a given, no? I wouldn’t imagine there’d be a ton of users that could claim it.

Leave a Reply

