What is it like to Code for Social Media?

Since I’m a political science student in a Tech class, I wonder what it’s like to program some of the utilities of social networking sites and tools. As an undergrad I took some classes on programming when I was attempting to be an ECE major, but I quickly found out that was not my cup of Java. I liked coding, but it I found that the logic was starting to sound like gibberish when I started some of the more advanced programming.

So in reading web-comics today, I stumbled across this one:


So I have to ask, do any programmers feel like this when they work on projects that require copious amounts of complicated code?

About Mike Brownstein

I'm a Political Science MA student, and taking Tech 621 at Purdue University
This entry was posted in Humor, Questions and Fears. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What is it like to Code for Social Media?

  1. Mihaela says:

    I’m curious if Hanjun will find this comic entertaining!

  2. hanjunxian says:

    I will from now on try to avoid labeling myself ‘programmer’ 🙂 Anyway, I talked to Dr. V today and she told me something related to your concern. The major principle for development in social media is – tell me where to cite your arguments, Dr. V – even though I implement a social media site or component for my own business, I should make sure the product I create benefits its users and better have them intrinsically motivated. Then I can collect data, make money, and do whatever based on the user data.

    • Mihaela says:

      I said that?! “do whatever”?! 🙂 It’s all about the system getting smarter as more and more people use it… cite O’Reilly, not me. 😉

    • I kind of understand now. This means that all the programmers nowadays are just playing around the junk code, and the machines are doing the real high quality codes but no human could understand. Human programming is human day care? Is this true? Wonder where this thought come from? because of the so-called lightweight programming?

  3. Based on my shallow experience of programming, I love the logic. I love logic by itself. I like the feeling when you finally feel super clear from the gibberish. However, my problem is with the syntax as a beginning programmer, I just cannot remember which signal means which. Like the problem I have with English acronyms.

  4. I learned two interesting expression here: “gibberish” and “not my cup of Java”, the second one is cute 😉

Leave a Reply

